Welcome to the New York State Out of the Darkness Walks

#StopSuicide in New York

Join Us Today

We're moving forward with plans to host our Out of the Darkness Community Walks in person beginning fall 2021. The health and safety of our participants, staff and volunteers will be our top priorities as we work with local authorities to make decisions about event details, and we'll continue to offer options to participate online and in your neighborhood.

Now, more than ever, it’s important to be there for one another and take steps to safeguard our mental health and prevent suicide.

Find your Walk and register today to stay up to date on the latest news and announcements for the New York Walks!

#TogetherToFightSuicide

 

New York Chapters and Walk Dates:

Capitol Region (Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer,  Saratoga, Schenectady, St. Lawrence,    Warren, Washington) Questions? Contact Sandra Goldmeer, Area Director, (518) 791-1544, sgoldmeer@afsp.org

North Country Walk: Sunday, September 19. Register here: afsp.org/NorthCountry 

Capitol Region Walk for R.I.T.A.: Sunday, September 26. Register here: afsp.org/RITA 

Columbia-Greene Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/Columbiagreene  

Schenectady Walk: Sunday, October 3. Register here: afsp.org/Schenectady


Greater Central NY  (Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Schoharie, Tioga, Tompkins) Questions? Contact Karen Heisig, Associate Area Director, (315) 664-0346, kheisig@afsp.org 

Greater Ithaca Walk: Saturday, September 18. Register here: afsp.org/ithaca

Oneonta/Otsego County Walk: Saturday, September 25. Register here: afsp.org/oneonta

Delaware County Walk: Sunday, October 26. Register here: afsp.org/delawarecounty

Broome/Tioga County Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/broomecounty

Brookfield NY Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/brookfieldny

Mohawk Valley Walk: Sunday, October 3. Register here: afsp.org/mohawkvalley

Syracuse/Liverpool Walk: Saturday, October 9. Register here: afsp.org/syracuse                                                                                                                 

Watertown Walk: Sunday, October 10. Register here: afsp.org/watertown


Western New York (Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates) Questions? Contact Missy Stolfi, Area Director, (585) 202-2783, mstolfi@afsp.org

Buffalo Walk: Saturday, September 18. Register here: afsp.org/buffalo

Cattaraugus County Walk: Friday, October 1. Register here: afsp.org/olean

Rochester NY Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/rochesterny

Jamestown NY Walk: Saturday, October 9. Register here: afsp.org/Jamestown

Finger Lakes Walk: Saturday, October 16. Register here: afsp.org/fingerlakes

Keuka Lake Walk: Sunday, October 17. Register here: afsp.org/KeukaLake


Hudson Valley/Westchester (Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester) Questions? Contact Maria Idoni, Area Director, (914) 610-9156, midoni@afsp.org

Sullivan County Walk: TBD

Orange County NY Walk: Sunday, September 19. Register here: afsp.org/OrangeCountyNY

Dutchess & Ulster Counties Walk: Sunday, September 26. Register here: afsp.org/DutchessUlster

Rockland County Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/RocklandCounty

Westchester County Walk: Saturday, October 16. Register here: afsp.org/WestchesterWalk

Putnam County Walk: Sunday, October 17. Register here: afsp.org/Putnam


Long Island (Nassau, Suffolk) Questions? Contact Ann Morrison-Pacella, Area Director, (516) 869-4215, amorrison@afsp.org

Long Island East End Walk: Sunday, September 26. Register here: afsp.org/longislandwalkeast

Long Island Walk: Sunday, October 24. Register here: afsp.org/longislandwalkwest


New York City (Brooklyn, Bronx, Manhattan,  Queens, Staten Island) Questions? Contact Amy Monahan, Area Director, (646) 284-5790, amonahan@afsp.org

Staten Island Walk: Saturday, October 2. Register here: afsp.org/StatenIsland

Bronx Walk: Sunday, October 10. Register here: afsp.org/Bronx

Brooklyn Walk: Sunday, October 17. Register here: afsp.org/Brooklyn

NYC Walk: Sunday, October 24. Register here: afsp.org/NYCwalk

Queens Walk: Sunday, October 24. Register here: afsp.org/Queens


 

About our AFSP chapters

The grassroots work we do focuses on eliminating the loss of life from suicide by: delivering innovative prevention programs, educating the public about risk factors and warning signs, raising funds for suicide research and programs, and reaching out to those individuals who have lost someone to suicide.

As a part of AFSP’s growing nationwide network of chapters, we bring together people from all backgrounds who want to prevent suicide in our communities. Families and friends who have lost someone to suicide, vulnerable individuals, mental health professionals, clergy, educators, students, community/business leaders, and many others energize our chapters.